• Code 260920-8

Bhutan. Proof Set, 1966. In case of issue.

PROOF SET 1966,   Royal Mint. 4 coins: Cu-Ni 1/4, 1/2, 1 and 3 rupees.  KM 29-32. Bright FDC coins in case of issue.

This, the first Proof set of coins of Bhutan was minted in 1966 in the UK Royal Mint and celebrates to 40th Anniversary of the Accession of Jigme Wangchuk. The obverse shows Jigme Wangchuk. The reverse depicts the emblem of Bhutan.

Bhutan is a very small country of south-central Asia, located on the eastern ridges of the Himalayas. Historically a remote kingdom, Bhutan became less isolated in the second half of the 20th century, and consequently the pace of change began to accelerate. Reforms initiated by King Jigme Dorji Wangchuk (1952–72) in the 1950s and ’60s led from absolute monarchy in the 1990s towards the institution of multiparty parliamentary democracy in 2008.
Until 1789, the coins of the Cooch Behar mint circulated in Bhutan. Following this, Bhutan began issuing its own coins known as chetrum, mostly silver 1⁄2 rupees. Hammered silver and copper coins were the only types issued until 1929, when modern style silver 1⁄2 rupee coins were introduced, followed by bronze 1 paisa in 1931 (dated 1928). Nickel 1⁄2 rupee coins were introduced in 1950. While the Cooch Behar mint coins circulated alongside Bhutan's own coins, decimalization was introduced in 1957, when Bhutan's first issue of coins denominated in naya paisa. The 1966 issues were 25 naya paisa, 50 naya paisa and 1 rupee coins, struck in cupro-nickel.

£0.00 £45.00
0 Rewards Points
Out Of Stock

The item has been added to your basket

Continue Shopping
Proceed To Checkout